Blind.

I will lead the blind by a way they do not know,
In paths they do not know I will guide them
I will make darkness into light before them
And rugged places into plains
These are the things I will do,
And I will not leave them undone.

Hear, you deaf!
And look, you blind, that you may see.
Who is blind but My servant,
Or so deaf as My messenger whom I send?
Who is so blind as he that is at peace with Me,
Or so blind as the servant of the LORD?

Isaiah 42:16 & 18-19

I fell in love with Jesus as a small child in Sunday School.  As a little girl, stories of His love drew me to Him like a warm fire on a chilly night.  I would sit in my little chair at a little table, intently watching the teacher weaving stories from God’s Word through colorful felt pieces and figures that were placed on flannelgraph backgrounds as they shared His love for me.  Stories of healing the sick, the lame, the deaf… and the blind.  “I was blind, but now I see” always seemed to mean the sinner seeing “the light” of salvation – seeing Jesus as Savior – but this passage shares more.

I am blind.  Not just wearing a blindfold – I. AM. BLIND.  Totally.  How frustrating, until I stop and realize… who is “so blind as the servant of the Lord?” As a servant, I am bound to serve.  I am not called to lead – I am called to follow.  I don’t know the way.  I don’t have to know the way ahead – I don’t have to SEE the way before me – I simply need to follow the One I serve.  My Guide.

And… I can’t see!!!   It is so frustrating to be so human and so few-dimensional!!!  My perspective on life is limited to what I’ve experienced in the past up until this moment.  I can try to plan, but I fall short because I cannot see with certainty what will happen.  I can only plan based on past experience – and hope for the best.  BLINDNESS…

I’m blind to what’s ahead.  Blind to what God sees and knows – and has already planned before the foundation of the world.  I want to know what’s ahead, but it’s an unknown fog.  Doors open before me.  God’s hands are turning the knobs, pushing them open before me – but I’m blind.  I have to trust as God takes me and leads by a way I don’t know, in a path I don’t know.  He states with all certainty: “I. WILL. GUIDE.”

It’s been said that hindsight is so much better than foresight but, in reality, there is no foresight because we cannot see before.  As we look ahead into the darkness of what’s ahead, as we step out in faith, trusting the hand that takes ours to lead us as a guide leads the blind, He promises to make that darkness of the unknown into light and to turn the rugged, tough-to-maneuver places into a smooth, manageable path.

If only God would speak as He did in days of old!  There is no burning bush, no visible angel, no finger writing on a wall before me.  I cannot see where I’m going.  I am blind, so I trust in the One Who DOES know the way.  He’s there as my Guide – I have to let Him make the path clear before me.

Matthew Henry’s comments on this passage: To those who by nature were blind, God will show the way to life and happiness by Jesus Christ. They are weak in knowledge, but He will make darkness light. They are weak in duty, but their way shall be plain. Those whom God brings into the right way, he will guide in it. This passage is a prophecy, and is also applicable to every believer; for the Lord will never leave nor forsake them. (Matthew Henry Commentary)

Who is so blind as he that is at peace with Me? The truly blind person who is totally content with wherever his Guide takes him, knowing that the Guide truly knows the very best way.


About sandypdot

Life is a journey - Enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

