… I can still rejoice in the freedom I have…♥

Today is Mother’s Day – Happy Mother’s day to all!  May you rejoice in your children while enjoying family memories and love today…

Today is a day that I draw upon fond memories of a Godly mother and visualize her sitting in a chair, open Bible in her lap.  My Mom was a beast of a homemaker who kept a spotless home and spotless life, who would take brief breaks during her workday to spend time with God in His Word and in prayer.  She taught me much about devotion to her Lord and her family through her example prior to her sudden departure from life as we know it when I was 12 years old, and I thank God for her legacy and her Godly heritage.

I also received a letter from prison today.  As I enjoy a beautiful sunny spring Sunday, immersed in the final stages of vacation planning and while embracing love from mothers that surround me, I consider a Godly friend who is not able to enjoy these simple pleasures of a free life.  Once again, I find myself thankful for the simplest of life’s pleasures: breathing fresh air from an open window, driving my car to church, worshipping with friends, using a cell phone, surfing the Internet.

Thank you, God.  I am so blessed.  Forgive me for being so unthankful – so often. ♥

Thank you for the lovely card.  It is easy to be a soldier for Christ during “peace time” but when it really counts or shows the most is when we are battling “against the rulers of darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places” (Eph. 6:12).  I really don’t think most of us realize this, that many things that happen in our lives can be the result of Spiritual warfare.  We read about it in the book of Job specifically, and numerous times the Bible tells us that God affects people with trials at times to convince them to turn back to Him.  Haggai 2:17, “I smote you with blasting and with mildew and with hail in all the labors of your hands, yet ye turned not to me, saith the Lord.”  With all of this being said, God’s hand on our lives and spiritual warfare probably play a much bigger part than most of us realize.  “But even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing, whose minds the God of this age has blinded, who do not believe, lest the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine on them” (2 Cor. 4:3-4).

(My wife) sent me a copy of your blog.  I have need to remind myself that our true freedom comes from Christ (John 8:36).  “Therefore if the Son makes you free, you are free indeed.”  Although every single aspect of my life is now dictated for me, I can still rejoice in the freedom I have in Christ.  I realize that I am more free than most of the people who walk out of here each day when their shift is over (if there are any Christian correction officers that work here, I haven’t seen them yet).

I do get discouraged, but the encouragement from my own family and my brothers and sisters in Christ allows me to feel the love of Christ in a very real way and makes the verse from Deuteronomy 30:8 on the back of your card feel real as well.

I thank God for frends like you (Phil. 1:3).

Yours in Christ,

Mark

I thank God for you, Mark.  Our prayers continue for God’s grace & wisdom to uphold you, and boldness as you literally withstand and stand in the face of the evil one (Gal. 6:13). May God be pleased to work through you for His glory alone…

###

On March 16, 2011, at app. 1:50pm, a life changed forever.  My friend was declared guilty of aggravated murder.  The history of that verdict is long and very much debatable, but the result is a reality: a prison sentence to be served.  The domino effect of that reality continues.  Shattered lives are just now beginning to create a new semblance of “normalcy” as together, friends and family cope and deal with the new reality of everyday life without his unique intellect, smile and humor with us in person.

About sandypdot

Life is a journey - Enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Notes from a prison cell and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

