The Prayer

O God of my praise,
Do not be silent!
For they have opened the wicked and deceitful mouth against me;
They have spoken against me with a lying tongue.
They have also surrounded me with words of hatred,
And fought against me without cause.
In return for my love they act as my accusers;
But I am in prayer.

Ps 109:1-4

How do I react when people talk about me negatively? Yes, when. It happens. It happens to all of us. And we all probably react in much the same way.

My knee-jerk and gut reaction is to aim it right back at ’em and about ’em, with vengeance and vigor. I don’t do well with people who throw dirt, and it sure doesn’t help to throw it back… does it…

God knows that. His Word provides wisdom in how to handle the negatives of life, and that wisdom is usually a lot different than how I really want to react. 

The writer of Psalm 109 was a very wise and mature person who recognized not only the negative words being shared about them, they recognized the lies and asked God not to be silent about it. It’s interesting that the author asks God not to be silent, yet they are willing to be silent themselves.

*gulp*

While unreciporocated love is tough enough to deal with, the author is dealing with this AND hateful words being spoken. God’s Word is clear that deceitfulness and lying are things that God literally hates, and the author seems to recognize and desires to deal with this – appropriately.

Silently – with one avenue of response: prayer.

Pray for my enemies? YES. It’s God’s command. “LOVE YOUR ENEMIES and PRAY for those who persecute you.

*sigh*

Not only do I need to trust Almighty God in every area of my life, including false accusations, deceit, and lies directly towards me, I need to pray through it ALL.

My prayer today is that you too will swallow the pride of retribution you most likely feel when wrongfully accused and treated more than unfairly – and, instead, put the words we see written into action:

“But I am in prayer.”

About sandypdot

Life is a journey - Enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

