The Time – to give thanks

give thanksIt’s the time of year for golds and browns, pilgrims and indians, cornucopias and turkeys, and lots of colorful leaves. Thanksgiving week is a time when we hear a lot about food, families, friends and fellowship, and the time to give thanks.

The time.

As I drove home today, I thought back over the course of the past year and the people we won’t see for Thanksgiving. I thought about close friends I have to catch myself before emailing – because they are no longer at the other end of their Inbox. I considered the number of changes in our own life at home and the new normal we live every day.

And I continued to thank God for His abundance, His mercy, and His continued love for me – unworthy at best.

In EVERY thing give thanks.

I caught myself thinking back with regret over the times I didn’t give thanks
during the moments of pain and sadness:
the moments that took me by surprise,
the moments I didn’t see coming.
I look back and think…

If only…

I would’ve given thanks.

We reap the consequences of our decisions.

If only I would’ve given thanks instead of getting sucked into the mire of the moment, how different the outcome could’ve and would’ve been.

If only I would’ve given thanks – instead of knee-jerk reacting.

If only I would’ve given thanks – I would’ve had even more to be thankful about, because the outcome could’ve and would’ve been so much more positive.

So this Thanksgiving week I give thanks for every thing, and I choose to continue likewise. My God knows best and – because of that – I say “Thank you.”

We are truly so…

blessed

About sandypdot

Life is a journey - Enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

