The Team

… let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.
– Hebrews 12:1

It’s those times when the team is there for me…
that make me so thankful I don’t run the race of life alone.

Hamstring plus tendonitis equals a bad combination which creates a pain in the rear. Literally. Seriously. It’s something I’ve been fighting for the past 2 months since I ran a little too fast, a little too hard, a little too long.

Ow – located at the base of a rear cheek. And just when it eases up – yank… I’ll pull it – just like I did yesterday when I moved a little too fast in the production area of our warehouse yesterday – which leads to…

OW. Or, after a few minutes of being up and around, leads to OW: Supersized.

Every time I walk. A pain in the rear. Right rear, at the base of the rear, to be exact.

Problem is, I was leading charge for our company team to be part of a 5k event. Today. The day after I re-jiggled my hamstring out of its string and into the pain-in-the-rear position. And, as I walked late yesterday, I began to dread the tomorrow which became today. As I lay in bed last night, trying to relax and get comfy despite a squealing hamstring, I wondered…

How will I make it to the finish line?

The answer?

I was running with a team.

I wasn’t alone.

My team was running with me.

I found out how much that meant as the morning unfolded.

the teamI got up to 60-ish degrees and rain. It was RAINING hard early this should’ve-slept-in-Saturday morning. By the time I left for the 5k, it was just plain dreary with mist – but at least it wasn’t pouring.

I was dreading it – in spite of the BioFreeze I had slathered thickly on the base of my right rear. When I arrived, my dread grew into ohhhh-nooo dread as I was directed to park in a parking lot probably a half-mile from where the team was gathering. As I made my way there, the owww-eee reality whispered gently in my ear:

Uh oh – What have you done…?

2014-07-19 09.21.12But I found them – the team – and the smiles and giggles made the owww-weee soften as we laughed at the rain and smiled at the challenge. Even as I took pictures of the line before me, waiting for the launch of the race, I saw members of the team – MY team – and my focus took aim on the finish line next to the starting point.

Readyyyyyy….

Setttttt….

GO Team – GO!

And off they ran, and off I walked, taking picture after picture of the course as I progressed through the miles. It kept my mind off my butt, and that wasn’t a bad thing.

2014-07-19 09.17.47I made it. I MADE IT!! I wondered how, I wondered when, but I never wondered if…

After I found my place with the team as we gathered at the start of the course.

Even though there were a number of places to stop, to short-cut, or even give it all up, memories of gathering with the team propelled me through the streets with the rest of the runners, joggers, walkers and strollers. And when I rounded the last corner of the course…

the teamThere they were. the rest of the team.
Rooting me on –
CHEERING me on –
Waiting for me to run through the final leg of the course so we could be reunited again as THE TEAM THAT MADE IT through the race – together again.

2014-07-19 08.47.09When life brings on the dead ends,

The speed bumps,

2014-07-19 09.00.49The puddles,

The pain of making it through…

Find the team you can count on to run with you to the end –

Because life is not a simple sprint.

It’s a marathon.

And we all need each other.

Together
Everyone
Accomplishes
MORE.

the team

About sandypdot

Life is a journey - Enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Life, Workplace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

